Welcome to the Home page of the Irish Association of Brass and Concert Bands.

The IABCB is a voluntary association who represent and organise events for the many Concert and Brass Bands located throughout Ireland.

The IABCB was originally founded in 1965 to represent Brass and Military Bands and has developed and evolved through the years to account for the changes in both musical representation and performance.

The current Executive work towards promoting Irish Bands abroad, organising the National Band Championships, liasing with foreign bands and other events such as Masterclasses.

The Association itself is also divided into regions, and each has the chance to undertake it's own events such as regional solo and ensemble competitions.

IABCB membership includes players from all around the world, ranging in age from young beginner musicians to seasoned players who continue to play well into their retirement years, showing that music is indeed open to anyone of any age!

In previous years we have developed close ties with Bands across the world, and have also been privileged to welcome many well known composers and conductors such as Stephen McNeff, Fergus O'Carroll, Paul Lovatt Cooper, Vincent Kennedy and Fergal Carroll to our events. Previous adjudicators of our National Band Championships include Timothy Reynish, Mark Heron, Jacob de Haan, Adam Gorb, Michael Ball, Hughina Naylor, Denis Wilby and Michael Brand. We are delighted that this year we will be joined by Philip Sparke.

We maintain close links with the Northern Ireland Band Association and regularly attend events, competitions and functions held by the NIBA.

Latest News

51st IABCB National Band Championship Results

(Own choice piece/Set testpiece)

Section 1 Brass
1st - Drogheda Brass Band - 44/95
2nd - Lourdes Brass Band - 43/94
3rd - Arklow Shipping Silver Band - 42/92
4th - The Stedfast Band - 41/91
Best Own Choice: Drogheda Brass Band
Best Section 1 Band (Brass and Concert): Drogheda Brass Band
Best Overall Band: Drogheda Brass Band

Section 1 Concert
1st - Dublin Concert Band - 42/96
2nd - Ardee Concert Band - 43/93
Best Own Choice: Ardee Concert Band
Best Supporting Section: French Horns, Dublin Concert Band
Best Woodwind: Dublin Concert Band
Best Brass: Dublin Concert Band

Section 2 Concert
1st - Lucan Concert Band - 39/88

Section 3 Concert
1st - EANER Youth Concert Band - 40/90
2nd - Clara Town Band - 39/89
3rd - Clondalkin Youth Band - 39/86
Best Own Choice: EANER Youth Concert Band

Section 4 Concert (total points)
1st - Finglas Concert & Marching Band - 124
2nd - CBS Concert Band - 121
3rd - Ballymore Eustace Prelude Ensemble - 120
4th - Rathfarnham Concert Band Junior - 119
5th - Ardee Concert Youth Band - 118
6th - St Patricks Brass & Reed Band Balbriggan - 117

Most Promising Band: Ballymore Eustace Prelude Ensemble
Best March: Finglas Concert & Marching Band
Best Slow Piece: CBS Concert Band
Best Own Choice: Rathfarnham Concert Band Junior

Congratulations to all the bands that took part over the weekend, and thanks to all those that came to support the bands and the event.

See you next year!

Kevin Teers
IABCB Competition Secretary